The Spanish alphabet is currently made up of the following 27 letters: a, b, c, d, e, f, g, h, i, j, k, l, m, n, ñ, o, p, q, r, s, t, u, v, w, x, y, z

spanish alphabet chart

Spanish Alphabet Pronunciation

How do you pronounce the Spanish alphabet?

I have published a video that shows you how to pronounce each of the letters of the Spanish alphabet with both, a European and American Spanish accent.

But if you prefer to read, here are the letter names of the Spanish alphabet and some pronunciation tips!

letter letter name English pronunciation tips
A a like the "a" in "father"
B be like the "b" in "about"
C ce before e and i, like the "c" in "cent" in Latin America, or like the "th" in "think" in some regions of Spain
C before a, o, u, like the "c" in "car"
D de like the "d" in "today"
E e like the "e" in "vet"
F efe like the "f" in "face"
G ge like the "h" in "hot" before e, i
G like the "g" in "again" before a, o, u
H hache always silent
I i like the "ee" in "see"
J jota like the "h" in "hot"
K ka like the "c" in "car"
L ele like the "l" in "leg"
M eme like the "m" in "mother"
N ene like the "n" in "need"
Ñ eñe like the "ny" in "canyon"
O o like the "o" in "more"
P pe like the "p" in "spouse"
Q cu like the "c" in "car"
R erre strongly trilled at the beginning of a word, after n, s or l, and when there is a double r in the middle of a word
R otherwise, r makes a softer sound
S ese like the "s" in "sack"
T te like the "t" in "stand"
U u like the "oo" in "food"
V uve like the "b" in "about"
W uve doble like the "w" in "web"
X equis like the "x" in "taxy" when it appears between vowels or at the end of a word
X like the "s" in "sack" at the beginning of a word or before a consonant
Y ye like the "y" in "yes"
Z zeta like the "s" in "sack" in Latin America, or like the "th" in "think" in some regions of Spain
WordPress Tables Plugin

Interesting Fact: The letters of the Spanish Alphabet are feminine: la a, la be, la ce, la de…

The orthography used in the Spanish language also includes the following 5 digraphs: ch, ll, rr, gu, qu.

A digraph is a combination of two letters that represents one sound. For example, the digraph “ch” represents the sound /tʃ/, as in “chip.” 

digraph English approximation
ch like the "ch" in "chocolate"
ll like the "y" in "yes"
rr strongly trilled
gu like the "g" in "guitar"
qu like the "c" in "car"
WordPress Tables Plugin

Digraphs continue to be used in the Spanish language. The novelty here is that they are not considered letters of the Spanish alphabet anymore. Before 1994, the digraphs “ch” and “ll” were part of it.  

Spanish Alphabet Letter Names

The following letters of the Spanish alphabet have more than one valid name in areas where Spanish is spoken: b, v, w, y, i. 

In a congress held in 1994, the Association of Academies of the Spanish Language decided to promote the use of one unique name for each letter of the Spanish alphabet.

Letter Name After 1994 Other Names
b be be larga
be grande
be alta
i i i latina
y ye i griega
v uve ve
ve corta
ve chica o chiquita
ve pequeña
ve baja
w uve doble ve doble
doble ve
doble u
doble uve
WordPress Tables Plugin

Think this is neat? Share it with your friends!